Meghadootam

Meghadootam


Price

INR 100

BDT 120

USD 5

CAD 7

AUD 7

EUR 4

GBP 4

AED 18

SGD 7

NZD 8

MYR 20

QAR 18

SAR 18

MVR 80

MXN 100

THB 150

ARS 120

LKR 250

NPR 160


Time

Kolkata, INDIA:6th Dec '20 at 8:30pm till 10th Dec '20 at 11:59pm

Dhaka, BAN:6th Dec '20 at 9:00pm till 11th Dec '20 at 12:29am

New York, US:6th Dec '20 at 10:00am till 10th Dec '20 at 1:29pm

London, UK:6th Dec '20 at 3:00pm till 10th Dec '20 at 6:29pm

Sydney, AUS:7th Dec '20 at 2:00am till 11th Dec '20 at 5:29am

Basic Information:

Composition, Choreography & Direction : Debamitra Sengupta
Research Guidance : Pandit Nityananda Misra
Vocal Support : Nirmalya Roy
Narration : Shaon Sen
Music Direction : Snehasish Mozumder
Dance :
Yakshapriya : Debamitra Sengupta
Yaksha : Sujit Karmakar
Cloud Messenger : Tuhin Chatterjee, Surajit Biswas, Ambika Roy, Archita Chakraborty
In Other Roles : Poulami Nag, Bhamoti Basu, Pragya Sen, Rohini Sen Yadav, Prateeti Mukhopadhyay, Shreya Banerjee, Adrija Mukherjee, Aheli Mukherjee, Sriya Sarkar, Sheersha Banerjee, Beas Dhar, Somdutta Ghosh, Tamoha Mukhopadhyay, Samadrita Bhattacharya, Sudarshana Mitra

Description:

‘Meghdootam’ by Mahakavi Kalidasa is an unparalleled artistic expression in ancient Indian language – Sanskrit, set to Mandakranta rhythm.

It is a story of a lovelorn ‘Yaksha’ pining for his beloved on being separated from her for a year. He was so besotted by the beauty of his wife that he erred in his duties and as a consequence was cursed and banished from the kingdom by his master ‘Kubera’. On being implored by ‘Yaksha’ the Cloud acts as a messenger to float from the hills of ‘Ramagiri’ to ‘Alkapuri’ to meet Yaksha’s beloved and on its way crosses picturesque sights – flowing rivers, busy beautiful village women and ancient adorned cities like ‘Bidisha’, ‘Ujjaini’, etc.

Our endeavour is to express ‘Meghdootam’ through an exquisite dance choreography which would bring alive on stage the passion of ‘Yaksha’ as he pines for his beloved and the exotic descriptions of the rivers, cities, women, forests, mountains which the Cloud passes through.